Cyprus University of Technology - Department of Multimedia and Graphic Arts


The Cyprus University of Technology aspires to develop itself into a modern, pioneering University able to offer education and high-level research in leading branches of science and technology which have a high impact on the economic, technical, and scientific sectors. With its orientation towards applied research, the University aspires to establish for itself a role in support of the state and society in their efforts to confront problems, which cover all areas of science and technology. The programmes of the CUT to a large extent complement scientific areas, which are not currently covered at Undergraduate and Postgraduate levels by the University of Cyprus or any other institution of higher education in the country. The Cyprus University of Technology was founded by law in December 2003 and welcomed its first students in September 2007. The Cyprus University of Technology is based in the city of Limassol, where all six faculties are located.

University Campus

The University's six Faculties are located in the city centre of Lemessos (Limassol). For the first out of three phases of its operation, covering the period 2007-2013, the buildings of the University will be located within the old city centre. Old government buildings given to the University have been renovated but in order to cover the remaining needs other buildings in the vicinity have been rented and a number re-modified in order to house laboratories, lecture rooms as well as offices. During the second phase (2014-2020) the University campus will expand to an area of approximately 50,000m2, within the city centre, about seven minutes walking distance from the old city centre. The University Campus Master Plan envisages that until 2020 the number of students will steadily grow to 7000- 8000, with 5-7 Faculties and 21-28 departments. The Master Plan development aims to satisfy all the needs of the University. Student hostels are currently being set-up within walking distance from both areas planned to house the University.

Academic and Teaching Staff

The Academic and Teaching Staff is selected by electoral boards, which are made up of Cypriot and non-Cypriot academics from at least three different countries. The procedure of electing Academic and Teaching Staff is continuing. The minimum academic qualification for the Academic and Teaching Staff is a PhD and the ability to teach and conduct research in a university environment. The academics who have already been elected have distinguished academic achievements and lecturing experience at Universities and higher educational institutions in Cyprus and abroad. Teaching needs of the University are also covered through a system of visiting professors, special scientists, and special teaching personnel. According to the University rules, independent lecturing of a class is assigned only to academics who hold a PhD degree.

Main Objectives

The development of all departments is characterized by the following three objectives:

  • To offer education to students of a high scientific, technological and professional level.
  • To produce high-quality research that will transcend the traditional boundaries between basic and applied research, so that solutions may be offered to major problems of society and the economy. Simultaneously to allow Cyprus to attain an important position as a partner in a modem, European setting and to secure significant external research funding
  • To promote University cooperation with local industry and the economic sector in order to participate in the national effort to innovate and constantly improve products and services

Research And International Cooperation

The Cyprus University of Technology aims at transferring knowledge (education) and producing new knowledge through basic and applied research. Research at CUT is carried out in each different Department or between two or more Departments, under the responsibility of one or more members of the Academic and Teaching Staff. University research activities are realised through funding secured from the following two major sources:

  • From the University’s state-funded budget
  • From different organizations, entities or private sources at national, European and international level who award, with or without a competition, specific research projects to research groups and/or individual members of the Academic and Teaching Staff.

Strengthening of the research management support and infrastructure, with the aim of securing externally funded projects, is another major objective of the University. Moreover, CUT has adopted the following principles in relation to Research, which conforms with the European Union’s declarations relating to the creation of a European Research Area. The University has adopted the following principles as regards the promotion of Research:

  • Effective access and information support
  • Equal research opportunities to all members of Academic and Teaching Staff
  • Effective support of Research Activities
  • Promotion of competition, quality and support of research projects
  • Start-up funding for new members of the Academic and Teaching Staff for the setting-up of research infrastructure, mainly for the creation of research laboratories

The Service for Research, International Collaboration and Public Relations has the responsibility to offer administrative support to the research activities of the academic community. Furthermore, it offers managerial services for research projects funded by CUT. Finally, SPIPR provides expertise for research proposal writing, external funding, mainly by the European Commission as well as by other organizations.

  • Research Projects

International Cooperation The Cyprus University of Technology intends to become an attractive, regional educational institution for neighbouring countries. In addition, CUT was established having as its primary aim the development of international cooperation with academic and scientific institutions. CUT aims in developing, organizing and maintaining effective international relations and networking having in mind the international scientific environment, in order to promote the following:

  • Student and staff mobility as well as the development of international collaboration.
  • Transnational university cooperation particularly focused on European educational and research programmes

The international collaboration of the Cyprus University of Technology consists of the following programmes and activities:

  • The Bologna process and the application of its provisions
  • Bilateral Agreements and Collaborations with Universities and Organizations
  • ERASMUS Exchange Programme
  • Application of the ECTS (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System) and Diploma Supplement
  • Mediterranean Collaboration programmes
  • Participation in University Networks
  • Participation in European and International Organization Networks
  • Collaboration in international Cultural protocols and programme

This school also offers other programs, click here.

This school offers programs in:
  • English

View MScs »


This school also offers:

Location address
Cyprus University of Technology
30 Archbishop Kyprianou Str.

Limassol, Limassol, 3036 CY