Keystone logo
University of Bialystok

University of Bialystok

University of Bialystok



The University of Bialystok was established in 1997 from the Branch of Warsaw University after 29 years of its existence.

Today UwB is one of the largest and strongest academic centers in North-Eastern Poland due to its scientific standards and potential. The University consists of nine faculties, including one located abroad in Vilnius. Classes and lectures are delivered by approximately 900 academic teachers.

At present, the University educates approximately 17.000 students in almost 30 fields of study. It offers about 100 different postgraduate courses. The student movement is thriving: there are about 70 student research clubs at the University.

Ph.D. degree studies are carried out within five University units: the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Economics and Management, the Faculty of Philology, the Faculty of Biology and Chemistry and the Faculty of History and Sociology.

UwB is entitled to confer 10 university degrees of doctor and 4 postdoctoral degrees. The region’s unique nature and cultural diversity, which attracts scientific studies, are applied to scientific research carried out at the University.

The University cooperates with institutions of higher education abroad within the frames of almost 50 agreements for scientific cooperation in LLP Erasmus Programme, Leonardo da Vinci Programme, and Framework Programmes. Thanks to inter-university and international cooperation the UwB students take part in professional internship training abroad.


  • Bialystok

    ul. Świerkowa,20B, 15-328, Bialystok