Keystone logo
National University of Patagonia San Juan Bosco

National University of Patagonia San Juan Bosco

National University of Patagonia San Juan Bosco


As antecedents of the studies in the region, various initiatives can be mentioned, such as the foundation of the public good, of a group of residents of Comodoro Rivadavia, of the Popular University of Patagonia, of private and free action, which operated from 1943 to 1950 teaching teaching of the technical and specialized medium level and conducting research and dissemination on pathological issues.

In 1947, as an initiative of the then Military Government of Comodoro Rivadavia, the Higher Institute of Patagonian Studies was created, which carried out a positive research mission with publications on Patagonian history. In September 1949, the Chamber of Senators approved the project to create the National University of Patagonia, with headquarters in Comodoro Rivadavia and schools in Trelew, Esquel, and Río Gallegos, but the initiative did not prosper in the Chamber of Deputies. In May 1959 the University Institute of Patagonia was launched in Comodoro Rivadavia, authorized by decree-law 6,403 of January 11, 1959. It was organized with a Council, a Rector, and the Schools of Sciences and Humanities. One of the fundamental motives in the creation of this private Institute was to stop the exodus of young people to other areas of the country, more tempting because of their climate or culture, and thus avoid a definitive disagreement with the Patagonian reality. This institute operated until 1961, the year in which it became the San Juan Bosco University of Patagonia, being recognized as such by the National Executive Power, by decree 2,850 of April 18, 1963.


  • Comodoro Rivadavia

    Comodoro Rivadavia, Argentina