Keystone logo
Universidad Ana G. Méndez - Recinto de Carolina

Universidad Ana G. Méndez - Recinto de Carolina

Universidad Ana G. Méndez - Recinto de Carolina


Ana G. Méndez University is an institution of higher education that has an extensive track record of offering programs that meet the highest standards of academic excellence. By knowing the wide and updated academic offer, we know that you will find the program and the learning modality that best suits your lifestyle.

Ana G. Méndez University also strives to have a specialized teaching staff and experienced in the methodologies that promote learning, to provide a wide variety of services to the student, and to provide modern physical facilities and the most up-to-date technological resources .

We invite you to explore our page so that you know more about our history, our achievements and the multiple contributions that we provide to the Puerto Rican community and society every day. UAGM campuses are located in various parts of Puerto Rico, and in the United States in Florida, Dallas and Maryland. Our programs and services are felt internationally.


To be recognized as one of the universities of greatest academic excellence in Puerto Rico and the world.


The Ana G. Méndez University campus of Carolina (formerly Universidad del Este) is an accredited, private, secular, nonprofit higher education institution that is part of the Ana G. Méndez University. He dedicates his academic and service work to promoting constructivist learning, respect for diversity and social justice. Its mission is to promote the integral development of people to form responsible and supportive citizens, capable of contributing to the sustainable development of their environment, through a socio-humanist education of excellence; valuing research, internationalization, entrepreneurship, technology, culture and community commitment. All its resources support the academic offer of certificates, associate degrees, baccalaureate, graduate studies and continuing education.


The principles that guide the institution are excellence, innovation, justice, respect, freedom of thought and action, solidarity, equity, integrity and social responsibility.

Featured Data

Type of institution

Private, secular and accredited, nonprofit.




We are great for our culture.

Ex student

Our alumni have reached higher goals.

A database that reaches 22,267 alumni allows us to recognize their position in the medical professions; the right; The education; Nursing; administration of higher education; entrepreneurship; Commerce; Public politics; management; marketing; hospitality and tourism; culinary arts; banking; health industries; communications; entertainment; aviation and engineering, with which the country benefits and strengthens its human capital.

In addition to the Government of Puerto Rico, companies such as Telemundo, GFR Media, Pfizer, Walgreens, CVS, St. Regis Bay Beach Resort, Plaza Provision, the Sheraton Convention Center Hotel

Study centers

  • Puerto Rico: Carolina (main campus), Arecibo, Barceloneta, Cabo Rojo, Santa Isabel, Yauco.
  • United States (bilingual programs): Maryland, Orlando, Tampa, South Florida and Dallas (Texas).

Academic offerings

More than 70 programs in the areas of entrepreneurship, business, health sciences, hospitality and culinary arts, social and human sciences, science and technology, education and professional technical studies.

Buro Millennial / Pexels



The accreditation of a higher education institution is a process in which an external organization examines the quality of the educational programs offered at the institution.

In order to provide the best education to our students, our institution is accredited by the following organizations:

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)
  • Puerto Rico Board of Education
  • Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA)
  • The Accrediting Commission of the American Culinary Federation Education Foundation (ACFEF)
  • Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP)
  • International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET)
  • Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC)
  • Council on Social Work Education (CSWE)
  • Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)

University Chronology

1949 - The Puerto Rico Junior College (PRJC) was founded.

1959 - PRJC became the first two-year private university college in Puerto Rico, accredited by the Middle States Association (MSA).

1990 - The PRJC inaugurated its new campus in the municipality of Carolina. They centralize the services, outside the walls in 5 municipalities: Yauco, Coamo, Cabo Rojo, Utuado and Moca.

1992 - It became the Eastern University College (CUE) and expanded its academic offer by offering baccalaureate degrees.

1996 - The transfer of students from the Hotel School of the Tourism Company to the International School of Tourism and Hospitality Management (ISTHM) was carried out.

1997 - The School of Professional Studies was established and the AHORA Program began, an accelerated studies alternative aimed at the professional adult.

2001 - The institution expanded its academic offer to include masters, updates its mission and becomes the Universidad del Este (UNE)

2003 - A new building for the International School of Tourism and Hotel Administration is inaugurated on the Carolina campus.

2004 - The International School of Tourism and Hotel Administration is recognized with the International Quality Star Award granted by the Business Initiative Directions organization, based in Spain.

2005 - The Employment Center is inaugurated on the Carolina campus and the Preschool Educational Center begins to operate. The International School of Tourism and Hotel Management is recognized, for the second time, by the Business Initiative Directions with the International Quality Crown Award in the Diamond category.

2006 - The Middle States Commission on Higher Education authorized the re-accreditation to the institution until 2015. The Northeast Technology Initiative (INTENE) was created. For the third time, the International Tourism School received the Business Initiative Directions distinction by awarding the World Quality Commitment award in the International Star category.

2007 - The School building is inaugurated: Business Administration, Health Sciences and Education.

2010 - Universidad del Este receives accreditations from the Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP), Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT) and the American Culinary Federation (ACF).

2013 - The Universidad del Este opens a promotion office in Mayagüez and Arecibo and the first UNE Salud facility.

2014 - Construction of the majestic building of the Jesús T. Piñero Library begins. Culinary arts program opens in Washington, DC

2019 - The Universidad del Este changes its name to Universidad Ana G. Méndez Carolina campus.


  • Carolina

    Carretera 190 Km 1.8 Barrio Sabana Abajo, , Carolina