Keystone logo
Federal University Of Santa Catarina

Federal University Of Santa Catarina

Federal University Of Santa Catarina


The Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina (UFSC) has its main campus located in Florianópolis, the capital of the state of Santa Catarina, Brazil. Founded on 18 December 1960 with the goal of promoting teaching, research, and outreach, UFSC delivers free and public education and is placed among the best universities in Brazil and in Latin America.

UFSC’s mission is to produce, systematize, and socialize philosophical, scientific, artistic, and technological knowledge, broadening and deepening students’ education for professional practice, critical thinking, and national and international solidarity with a view to building a just and democratic society and also guaranteeing the quality of life.

With four other campuses distributed in the cities of Araranguá, Blumenau, Curitibanos, and Joinville, UFSC community consists of around 50,000 people, including about 6,000 faculty and staff members. The university has nearly 30,000 undergraduate students enrolled in more than 100 on-campus programs and 10 distance learning programs. At the graduate level, UFSC offers around 9,000 places in more than 60 academic master’s programs, 15 professional master’s programs, and 50 doctoral programs, in addition to a number of graduate certificate programs offered on campus or via distance learning.

UFSC’s achievements are seen as a reference in Brazil and abroad and its internationalization process includes cooperation agreements with educational institutions all over the world. Currently, there are more than 300 partnerships with countries in all parts of the globe.


  • Trindade

    Rua Engenheiro Agronômico Andrei Cristian Ferreira,s/n, 88040-900, Trindade