Keystone logo
Erasmus University Rotterdam - Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences

Erasmus University Rotterdam - Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences

Erasmus University Rotterdam - Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences


Welcome to Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences (ESSB)

ESSB is home to a vast diversity of study programmes and scientific disciplines: Public Administration, Pedagogical Sciences, Psychology and Sociology. In addition, the Erasmus University College, IHS, and two research institutes RISBO and DRIFT are linked to the faculty. Our education is small-scale and based around Problem Based Learning (PBL). Being connected to the professional field is another characteristic of our study programmes.


The final responsibility for the faculty board and management of the Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences (ESSB) lies with the dean. The dean is supported by his staff, consisting of the dean, a student member, the faculty director and the policy advisors education and research and the business controller.

Faculty Council

In case of important faculty matters, consult the dean with the faculty council. The faculty council also acts as a co-decision body at the faculty level. The faculty council consists of 50% of students and 50% of employees of the ESSB. Prof. Victor Bekkers is currently Dean of ESSB.

Organisational components

The faculty has the following capacity groups, in which the academic personnel and the support and management staff is housed:

  • Department of Public Administration and Sociology.
  • Department of Psychology, Education & Child Studies.
  • Erasmus University College.

Education and research directors

The education and research within Public Administration, Psychology, Sociology and Pedagogical Sciences are housed in programmes. The management over these programmes lies with the education and research directors.

Faculty office

All support and management staff who do not specifically work for one science-based area are housed in the faculty office. The faculty office is headed by the faculty director: mw.dr. A.M.Ph. de Jong.

Joint decision making

Joint decision making means that various stakeholders are able to participate in discussions on important topics. At ESSB, students, either in a group or individually, can join discussions with professors and employees of the Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences in order to represent students and their opinion. Students are active in joint decision-making processes at different levels, thus conveying their ideas and complaints.

This part of the website gives information on the various possibilities to participate in joint decision making at the ESSB, how this is organised and where to go to in case of a complaint about the education.

There are various joint decision-making bodies & stakeholders at the ESSB:

  • Educational committees
  • The Faculty Council
  • The University Council
  • Student members of board councils
  • The student member of the Management Team

Cedo Nulli

"Cedo Nulli", which means ‘I do not give way to nothing or nobody’, is the motto of the most influential humanist of its time: Desiderius Erasmus. This motto is also the name of the student association of Social and Behavioural Sciences at the Erasmus University Rotterdam. Cedo Nulli represents public administrators, sociologists, pedagogists and psychologists to be, offering additional activities and facilities, varying from symposia for the various study programmes, lectures, workshops and study-tours.


  • Rotterdam

    Erasmus University Rotterdam Institute For Housing and Urban Development Studies P.O. Box 1935,

    • Rotterdam

      Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam Faculteit der Sociale Wetenschappen Mandeville Building, T15-19 Postbus 1738 3000 DR Rotterdam, , Rotterdam