MSc in Science in Cloud Computing

This course will provide you with the latest knowledge and competencies required by the fastest growing global industry: the cloud. Cloud computing has become a multi-billion euro industry and this course offers specialisations in two key areas: Infrastructure (a.k.a. IaaS - Infrastructure as a Service) and Development (a.k.a. SaaS - Software as a Service).

Studying at our state-of-the-art Cloud Competency Centre, you will gain experience with the latest design principles, models, and technologies in cloud computing. The course is completely delivered by faculty and industry practitioners with proven expertise in cloud computing.

Who is the course for?

This computing course will appeal to computer science or engineering graduates, ICT industry practitioners, system administrators, and those with an interest in gaining practical experience in cloud computing. To be admitted as a student, an applicant must have earned a degree or equivalent qualification at level 8 on the National Framework of Qualifications. Students in their final year of undergraduate study can be admitted on the condition that their degrees are awarded before they enrol at NCI.

As a graduate of this course you will be able to:

  • Create and deploy commercial multi-tier applications onto multiple (public/hybrid) cloud platforms
  • Plan and architect highly-scalable computing/data analytics solutions for business and scientific needs
  • Design pattern-based application code to run efficiently in a cloud environment
  • Evaluate security strategies associated with cloud computing and apply them to ensure the technical sustainability of an organisation
  • Perform a migration from a traditional ICT environment to a cloud-based platform
  • Manage the process of running an IT department from a cloud environment

Award and Progression

The Master of Science in Cloud Computing is awarded by QQI at level 9 on the National Framework of Qualifications. Students who successfully complete this course may progress to a major award at level 10 on the NFQ.

Entry Requirements

An honours (level 8) primary degree in a cognate discipline with a 2.1 award or higher. The college operates a Recognition of Prior Experiential Learning (RPEL) scheme meaning applicants who do not meet the normal academic requirements may be considered based on relevant work and other experience. This may be assessed using a portfolio of learning, demonstration of work produced, and an interview.

Indicative Schedule

An indication of the schedule of class days and times is 2 evenings per week, Tuesday and Thursday, 18.00 – 22.00.


This course extends over 1 academic year.

Program taught in:

See 5 more programs offered by National College of Ireland »

This course is Campus based
Start Date
1 year
By locations
By date
Start Date
End Date
Application deadline
Application deadline
End Date