Physics has been taught at Forman Christian College since it became a college in 1864. The Physics Department was established in 1907 with Prof. D. J. Fleming as its first Head. A long line of distinguished professors and prominent scientists have served in this department, including Nobel Laureate Dr. Arthur Compton, Prof. J. M. Benade, and Dr. Piara Singh Gill. Dr. Compton conducted most of his research on cosmic rays while a faculty member at FCC, which led to his receiving the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1927.

Prof J M Benade was one of the longest-serving professors in the department, eventually retiring as its Head in 1970. He was an active researcher and the Asian representative in Dr. Compton’s international research team. Dr. Compton’s student Dr. Piara Singh Gill was a faculty member at FCC from 1940 to 1947 and active in research. He was associated with the University of Chicago and the Georgia Institute of Technology. All these scientists and professors have made significant contributions to the field.

The Physics Department is located in the Armacost Science Building which has four undergraduate teaching labs, three research labs, a darkroom, a workshop, a research library, and experimental equipment which includes 4K cryogenic vacuum chamber with temperature monitors and controllers, ellipsometer, digital optical microscope for surface morphology studies, lock-in amplifiers, Tesla meters, laser interferometer with optoelectronic coupling, high temperature three stage programmable furnace, UV visible spectrophotometer and centrifuge, etc.

Program Features

  • Four regular semesters
  • 40 credit hours in total
  • 26 credit hours of coursework in first two semesters
  • Students must maintain a minimum of 3.0 CGPA in coursework
  • 3rd and 4th semesters will be dedicated to research on a theme chosen by the research supervisor

Admission Requirements

  • Conventional MS in Physics or Mathematics in first class; or BS (Honors) comprising 16 years of education and 130 completed credit hours after grade 12, with a minimum CGPA of 2.50 overall as well as a CMGPA of 2.50 in the Physics or Mathematics major
  • 50% cumulative score in GAT-General from the NTS or in the entry test conducted by the Department
  • Passing the Forman Physics Aptitude Test (FPAT).
  • Qualifying for the interview of the Department Admissions Committee.

Please find the latest program information here:

Cost & Fees


Tuition Fee Admission Security Activity Fee Total
99,479 10,000 10,000 500 119,979

2016 SP

Tuition Fee Activity Fee Tax 5% Total Total Fee Year Including tax
99,479 500 10,498 110,477 230,456
Program taught in:
  • English

See 3 more programs offered by Forman Christian College »

This course is Campus based
Start Date
Apr 2020
2 years
By locations
By date
Start Date
Apr 2020
End Date
Application deadline

Apr 2020

Application deadline
End Date